My Top 5 Songs by Yutaka Yamada

I was surprised to read about Yutaka Yamada’s works because I realized I liked his music from different anime but didn’t know it. Suddenly, it all made sense.

1. Glassy Sky (Tokyo Ghoul)

Tokyo Ghoul gets a lot of hate for being a bad anime adaptation. I like Tokyo Ghoul a lot but I’ve realized it’s because of the soundtrack.

Glassy Sky helps me fall asleep. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve listened to it.

2. Promise (Death Note: Light Up the New World)

This is from the live-action film, Death Note: Light Up the New World. I watched the film in June 2017. This song inspired me to draw this:

3. On My Own (Tokyo Ghoul)

I rarely listen to English songs too.

4. Licht und Schatten (Tokyo Ghoul)

5. Great Pretender Opening

This song is a very different from what you would hear in Tokyo Ghoul. I was surprised to learn that it was composed by Yutaka Yamada. He’s insanely talented.

Great Pretender is an amazing anime, by the way. You can read my impressions post here.


I was also surprised to learn that he did the soundtracks for Babylon, Vinland Saga, and the Inuyashiki live-action. I’ve been listening to his music on Spotify. Maybe I’ll have an updated list in the future. 🙂

Leave a comment