Korean Film Recommendation: Always (2011)

I’m writing this immediately after I finished watching Always, because that’s how good it was. My nose is still stuffy and my eyes are still sore from crying so much. It’s also almost 1 AM.

Always-029.jpg

Synopsis: During his shift at his job as a parking lot attendant, Cheol Min is visited by Jung Hwa, a woman who is blind. She was friends with the former parking lot attendant. Cheol Min and Jung Hwa develop a friendship, which turns into something more.

So much happens in this movie and I really cannot spoil too much. This is a romance movie and they do become a couple. That’s the focus of the first part of the film. They are in a serious relationship and they intend to have children together.

Always_(Korean_Movie)-04.jpg

In the second half of the film, Cheol Min and Jung Hwa’s happy life together is disrupted. Sad events ensue, and that’s when the ugly crying happens. The film has a happy ending, which I had to make sure before I even watched it. I can’t spoil what happens, so you’ll just have to watch it.

I loved this film because one, it evoked such a strong reaction out of me. Two, because I really enjoyed watching the daily life of the two together, and the simplicity of it. Three, because of how strong their love is. I think it’s inspiring to watch a story of a couple that have such an unbreakable bond. The film was really good at producing motifs and stories that only the two of them would know.

The only major thing I would have liked to be different is that I wish they gave us some more scenes in the end. I know, I’m greedy.

12 thoughts on “Korean Film Recommendation: Always (2011)

  1. Oh man, I don’t know if I could handle this movie: I’d be crying like mad on the inside. I do like how you said that Cheol Min and Jung Hwa seemed like a normal couple, however, because that shows that people with disabilities (in this case, blindness) can have healthy relationships too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s not what I meant by normal couple. I mean that lots of romance movies exaggerate their love life and in anime too. Second half is not “normal” because it was dramatic haha. I was referring more to that and not about blindness. I’ll reword that, thanks!
      “Realistic” could have been a better word because it was not like one of those relationships depicted in romantic comedies. I do feel bad about it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I didn’t spoil it for myself, just browsed through comments to see if anyone asked if it had a happy ending (and yes, it was!) 😂😂😂😂😂 I watched the entire film with English subtitles on YouTube.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lolll, same here xD I’d never wanna know any spoilers, just the gist of it is what I want. I was dreading a bit that this one would have a sad ending because they typically are ~_~ But I’m glad I was wrong!

        I prefer Viki cuz they acquire the licenses for their shows(I stopped watching pirated stuff a long time ago, hehe).

        Thanks for this recommendation!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Of course, it’s always the best choice to watch it on Viki! Hopefully it’s there. 🙂

        I don’t like watching movies with sad endings. I feel like I wasted my time with those movies. 😅

        Liked by 1 person

      • I checked, it’s coming soon on Viki! 😄

        Hahaha, same here!! I watch stuff cuz I want an ESCAPE, not real life 😁

        I just checked out the leading lady in ‘Always’ also acted in another movie called ‘The Beauty Inside’ and it’s available on viki. I think you might like it, too 😊 I’m putting it on my to-watch list!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve watched the movie a year ago and my heart breaks a Little when I think of it. Lol I know the story has a happy ending though I thought it won’t but it still feels so damn sad. IDK why 😥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment