I am fine the way I am

I got a certificate the other day, and I felt proud of myself. It’s been a while since I felt that way.

Other members include famous psychologists such as B.F. Skinner, Albert Bandura, Philip Zimbardo, and even Dr. Phil. LOL. To become a member, one must have an overall GPA in the top 35% of their class.

IMG_20170311_194021_316.jpg

Jian Rou is my legal name but you may stick with Rose =)

I remember I was unhappy about not being as smart as other people in my school. A friend said that I was already really smart since I attend the University of British Columbia. I knew that only a fairly small percentage of people from my high school year got accepted, but at the time it didn’t really make me feel better.

Justin Trudeau, the current Prime Minister of Canada – as well as two other PMs – were educated at my school. I realize that I am not in a bad place.

I still feel this way sometimes but I’ve learned to accept myself and be proud of myself more. I want to practice more self-love and be better to myself.

Note: I am not trying to show off and I am sorry if anyone feels that I am. I had serious issues with my self-confidence in general.

34 thoughts on “I am fine the way I am

  1. AHH CONGRATS AGAIN! I’ll remember your name for when you become a famous Psychologist ,and I can tell everyone I know you 😉

    Also you shouldn’t apologise, this is such a wonderful achievement, and you have every right to be proud of it, if anyone is a twat about it they’re just jealous 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Being someone who has had his own issues with selfconfidence all I can say is: it is awesome that you are showing off 😀 It means you have come to accept yourself more, and that is a very good thing. And seriously what is there not to be proud off? This is a very great achievement you have managed, so it is great that you are proud of that: congratulations, really! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much Michel! You are always giving me encouragement. 😀 I never thought about it that way. You’re right, blogging about it and showing it to other people does help in self-acceptance!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Don’t worry! At my school I often feel I’m really dumb/stupid because I’m surrounded by really smart people who seems to get great grades without going through the amount of effort I did. So I understand.
    But I actually prefer it this way because it makes me want to keep doing better.
    Also congratulations! I actually recognised those famous psychologists’ names. That’s pretty cool.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s great that you are being positive. The fact that it is a motivational tool does certainly help. :3
      Another thing I find helpful is to stop comparing yourself with others. I find that I do things best if I stop doing that. Some people are naturally more competitive so it’s different for everybody! I just try to focus on myself only and I find that helps. Of course, having friends and family encourage you along the way is super beneficial. 🙂 Thank you, and yay – you recognized their names! I wish you a good rest of the school year! You can do it!!!

      Like

  4. Rou Zhao is basically close to Rose
    Also congrats! This is so amazing!
    Im so proud of you! Keep practicing that self love because you definitely have reasons to feel good about yourself!
    I always had the same issues and i still struggle to see myself in a better light and prove myself im not that bad. And achievements like this are very helpful
    You really are fine just the way you are ^_^

    Liked by 2 people

    • Haha yeah, the names are very close!!
      Aw, thanks so much Kitty! ^^ Thank you, I’m happy that we are friends. We are working on this together and the same goes for you. You have a lot to feel proud of yourself for, and we will get better and better! I just know it. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

